3淨化和正確的通風同時進行下,麻醉廢氣的監測在手術室、牙醫設備和獸醫中防止對工人造成嚴重健康影響上,扮演重要角色。

工作場所曝露於麻醉廢氣

單單在美國估計多過 200,000 (1) 位健康護理專業人員潛在地曝露於麻醉廢氣,因而可能面臨職業病的威脅。

麻醉氣體透過不同渠道找到方向通往工作環境:

  • 麻醉機的一些部份洩漏,例如閥門內、有瑕疵的橡膠和塑膠管道、橡皮軟管、通風口吹風機等等
  • 不合適的面罩
  • 透過呼出 (康復室)

常用麻醉劑可以被分為兩類

  1. 一氧二氮。在 1844 年首次被引進並仍經常被使用。
  2. 鹵化劑。在 1950 年代被研發,取代當時被使用的易燃和爆炸劑。今時今日,這類最用得多的麻醉氣體包括,例如
    1. 氟烷 (Fluothane®)
    2. 安氟醚 (Ethrane®)
    3. 異氟醚 (Forane®)
    4. 地氟醚 (Suprane®)
    5. 七氟醚 (Ultane®)

不同研究已報告了多項問題與麻醉曝露有正向關連,例如婦女生殖問題及其後代發育不良,連同各種其他短期和長期健康影響 (2)。此外,額外麻醉氣體可以在艱鉅的手術中,例如醫療手術,對相關人士有負面影響。

因曝露於麻醉廢氣引起潛在危險,事故醫務人員需要被關注。配合淨化和有效的通風系統,空氣監測是其中一種用於減低工作人員曝露於麻醉劑的基本工具。

識別問題 – 不確定性和等候多個星期

現時很多醫院、牙醫診所和獸醫在他們的麻醉廢氣監測上面對不確定性和漫長的等候時間。解決方案例如麻醉廢氣識別收集樣本,然後需要被運送到實驗室或被運送到獨立分析儀得到結果。由取樣到得到結果的正常等候時間可以是兩個星期或更長。

用了漫長的等候時間,在工作環境本質上是不可能檢測到麻醉廢氣的來源。在麻醉廢氣監測上漫長的回饋迴路引起弱的狀態意識,亦難以找出因果關系及改善程序。在艱鉅的手術中,曝露於麻醉廢氣的情況對醫護人員所造成的負面影響,在可以取得實時空氣監測結果的情況下,才能處理。

快速和便攜式測量

在麻醉廢氣監測中,許多優點經由使用便攜式直接讀數儀器可以被達到。能夠同一時間測量所有經常使用的麻醉廢氣,減少多用途手術室的健康護理設備的潛在風險。因為不需要耗時分開取樣和樣本處理,測量可以進行得快更多。由於更多大量樣本可以被收集和測量,這容讓更多空氣質素綜合調查。避免分開取樣亦具成本效益,因為在取樣過程中沒有消耗品被需要。Gasmet GT5000 Terra 氣體分析儀提供理想的解決方案,因為它提供現場空氣質素測量,而沒有損害分析質素。

GT5000 Terra – 用於麻醉廢氣監測的市場領先解決方案

GT5000 Terra值得信賴的麻醉廢氣監測解決方案。它把所有經常使用的麻醉氣體 (在上面列出) 給予準確而即時的結果,便可檢測到洩漏,並作出程序的改進。GT5000 的效能因採用了 FTIR 技術而便得強勁。

GT5000 可以被完全無線操作,使它容易移動到所需位置。它是堅固耐用,外殼備有防濺防塵保護,讓它成為眾多嚴峻環境下的實務解決方案。

所有 Gasmet FTIR 分析儀隨機附送 Calcmet 軟件。軟件收集、儲存和檢視 FTIR 樣氣光譜,並分析氣體成份的濃度。你在這易於使用套裝中取得既快速又準確的結果。

Get Quote 

有關如何最能迎合你對麻醉廢氣監測要求的問題

利用 10 秒鐘填寫這表格,我們將會盡快回覆你。

相關博客

參考

Together with scavenging and proper ventilation, monitoring on waste anesthetic gases plays a vital role in preventing serious health effects of workers in operating rooms, dental facilities and veterinaries.

Workplace exposures to Waste Anesthetic Gases (WAGs)

It is estimated that just in the U.S more than 200,000 (1) health care professionals are potentially exposed to waste anesthetic gases, and therefore might face occupational illness.

Anesthetic gases find their way to the worker environments through various channels:

  • Leaks in some part of the anesthesia machine, such as in the valves, defected rubber and plastic tubes, hoses, ventilator bellows, etc
  • Poorly fitting face masks
  • Through exhale (in recovery rooms)

Commonly used anesthetic agents can be divided into two categories

  1. Nitrous oxide. First introduced in 1844 and still in active use.
  2. Halogenated agents. Developed in the 1950s to replace the flammable and explosive agents used in that period. Most anesthetic gases used today are included in this category, such as
    1. halothane (Fluothane®)
    2. enflurane (Ethrane®)
    3. isoflurane (Forane®)
    4. desflurane (Suprane®)
    5. sevoflurane (Ultane®)

Various studies have reported positive associations between anesthetic exposures and reproductive problems in women and developmental defects in their offspring, together with various other short- and long-term health effects (2). Additionally, excessive anesthetic gases can negatively affect personnel during demanding tasks, such as medical operations.

Due to the potential hazards caused by WAGs exposure, it has become a matter clinicians need to be concerned with.  Together with scavenging and effective ventilation systems, air monitoring is one of the fundamental tools used in minimizing worker exposure to anesthetic agents.

Problem with badges – uncertainty and weeks of waiting

Currently, many hospitals, dental clinics and veterinaries face uncertainty and extensive waiting times in their WAGs monitoring. Solutions such as waste anesthetic gas badges collect samples that then need to be sent to a laboratory or to a separate analyzer for results. A normal waiting time from sampling to results can be two weeks or more.

With extensive waiting times, it is essentially impossible to detect the source through which the WAGs ended up in the working environment. Weak situational awareness caused by long feedback loops in WAGs monitoring also makes it difficult to find causalities and improve processes. Situations where WAGs exposure negatively affects medical personnel during demanding operations can only be addressed when results from air monitoring are available in real-time.

Fast and portable measurements

Many advantages can be achieved by using portable direct-reading instruments in WAGs monitoring. The possibility to measure all frequently used anesthetic waste gases simultaneously reduces risks in healthcare facilities with multiple operating rooms. As there is no need for time-consuming separate sampling and sample treatment, measurements can be performed a lot quicker. This enables more comprehensive surveys of the air quality as a lot more samples can be collected and measured. Avoiding separate sampling is also cost-effective as no consumables are required for the sampling process. Gasmet GT5000 Terra gas analyzer provides an ideal solution as it offers on-site measurement of air quality without compromising on the quality of the analysis.

GT5000 Terra – market leading solution for waste anesthetic gas monitoring

GT5000 Terra is a trusted solution for anesthetic waste gas monitoring. It delivers accurate and instant results of all frequently used (listed above), which makes leak detection and process improvement a reality to its users. The GT5000 is powered by FTIR technology.

The GT5000 can be operated completely wirelessly, which makes it easy to move to the locations where it is needed. It has a rugged, splash and dustproof cover, making it a practical solution to various demanding settings.

All Gasmet FTIR analyzers are supplied with Calcmet software. The software collects, stores and visualizes the FTIR spectra of the sample gas and analyzes the concentrations of gas components. You get quick and accurate results in an easy-to-use package.


GT5000 Terra – our solution for Anesthetic Waste Gas Monitoring

GT5000 Terra is the worlds smallest portable and splashproof multigas FTIR analyzer. It can measure up to 50 gases simultaneously, making it possible for you to detect the unexpected. Equipped with wireless communication, you can get your WAGs  monitoring results in real-time on your laptop or tablet.

Learn more here