土壤中生物和非生物過程代表溫室氣體 (GHGs) 的主要來源。因此,測量從土壤而來的溫室氣體,是研究氣候變化重要的一環。從土壤釋放到大氣層的溫室氣體,例如二氧化碳 (CO2)、甲烷 (CH4) 和一氧化二氮 (N2O),原本是由生物產生。

一般有兩個不同方法測量溫室氣體土壤流通量:樣本由針筒收集到實驗室分析或在現場進行測量。現場測量意味著可避免延誤、耗費和樣本在運送途中有差錯。由 Gasmet 科技公司研發的便攜式 FTIR 氣體分析儀,非常堅固耐用,以電池充電,能夠在現場可靠地分析溫室氣體。

測量土壤流通量其中一個最廣泛使用的技術是箱子方法,利用一個放置在地上的開底箱,,每個箱子的地面面積的濃度變化經過一段時間後,便可測量出來。土壤箱子可以與 Gasmet 氣體分析儀整合,形成閉環式系統,樣氣循環地通過分析儀後,再返回箱子。

Gasmet 提供兩台現場部署的 FTIR 氣體分析儀:DX4040DX4015,它們是以非破壞的方式連續多項成份氣體分析。這些堅固耐用的氣體分析儀能夠同一時間測量最多 50 種不同氣體化合物。兩台分析儀適合實地工作,能夠自動地從多個箱子抽取樣本。

FTIR 技術是非常適合以寬闊範圍測量多項氣體,亦可測量不同類型的土壤,例如陸地生態系統、農地土壤及水生環境,各有不同的溫室氣體排放。Gasmet 氣體分析儀讓用戶可在實時追蹤濃度變化,可以迅速地研究和分析收集所得的結果。

這些分析儀不需要量程標定,只需以氮氣或環境空氣來作零標定。因此,實地操作是又快又簡單,而它佔地小,對於實驗室環境亦有如吸引力。

Climate Change and Greenhouse Gases

Biological and abiological processes in soil represent a major source of Greenhouse Gases (GHGs). The measurement of GHGs from soil therefore represents an important part of climate change research. GHGs, such as Carbon Dioxide (CO2), Methane (CH4) and Nitrous Oxide (N2O), released from soils into the atmosphere are primarily biogenic by origin.

Soil Flux Measurement Methods

Generally there are two different ways to measure GHG soil flux: either the samples are collected by syringe for laboratory analysis or measurements may be undertaken onsite in order to avoid the delays, costs and sample transport errors that this entails. The development of portable, robust, battery-powered soil flux analyzers by Gasmet Technologies has enabled the reliable onsite analysis of GHGs.

One of the most widely used techniques to measure soil fluxes is a chamber method in which an open-bottom soil chamber is placed on the ground and the concentration changes per chamber footprint area are measured over time. The soil chamber can be integrated with a Gasmet soil flux analyzer, forming a closed-loop system in which the gas sample is circulated through the analyzer back to the chamber.

Soil Flux Analyzers for Greenhouse Gases

Gasmet provides two field-deployable non-destructive FTIR based soil flux analyzers for continuous multicomponent gas analyses: DX4040 and DX4015. These robust gas analyzers enable the measurement up to 50 different gas compounds simultaneously. Both soil flux analyzers are ideal for field work and capable of taking samples from several chambers automatically.

The FTIR technology is well-suited for measurements of greenhouse gases over wide ranges, and is ideal for different soil types, such as terrestrial ecosystems, agricultural soils and aquatic environments, with varying GHG emissions. Gasmet soil flux analyzers provide the users with the ability to follow concentration changes in real-time, and to study and analyze the results as soon as they are collected.

These analyzers do not require span calibrations; zero calibration with nitrogen gas or ambient air is all that is necessary. As a result, field operations are quick and simple, and their small footprint makes them attractive in the laboratory environment.