透過廢物焚化達至轉廢為能或由廢物而來的能源,一方面是有效產生電力和熱力的方法,另一方面可以處理潛在有害或未能循環再用的廢物。其目的不是完成廢物再循環、再用及預防,而是善用它們。畢竟,焚化不只減少有害廢物的數量,但透過在進程中釋放氣體,亦可以產生能源。細閱我們為轉廢為能工廠所預備的解決方案!

一般廢物焚化類型

大部份工廠進程產生廢物,有些廢物如果處理不當,可能危害公眾健康及環境。雖然致力去減少及循環再用由工業進程所產生的有害廢物,每年超過 4 億公噸有害廢物被產生

有害廢物在生產進程中被產生當作副產品,例如化妝品、清潔劑、藥品、家用塗料、電話、電腦及汽油。被棄置的商品亦是潛在有害或未能循環再用的廢物的例子。

三種最常見焚化廢物類型是都市固體廢物、有害廢物及醫療廢物。這些廢物類型是液體、固體或放在容器中的廢物。

轉廢為能工廠

轉廢為能工廠是廢物管理設施,從廢物再新能源,產生電力及/或熱力。這些發電廠類型有時叫垃圾轉為能源、從廢物轉成能源或資源再生工廠。有害廢物可以在特定的轉廢為能工廠焚化,或持有許可與廢物共同焚化的生物質鍋爐或水泥窯內焚化。

當收到許多種有害廢物,必須把它們放進焚化爐、鍋爐、和工廠熔爐。這些廢物往往難以處理,因為它們的黏性或有害本質,所以最少的處理方法是更可取的。

不過,如許可的話,預先處理工作是理想的,促使廢氣成同質化,並不斷放進燃燒室。透過廢物類型進行共同預先處理工作:

  • 液體廢物 – 混雜及固體過濾
  • 固體廢物 – 篩查及縮減大小 (壓碎或切碎)
  • 在容器內的廢物 – 液態傾倒及切碎

透過直接燃燒、高溫分解或氣化轉廢為能

由轉廢為能工廠輸送熱能,比起只生產電力的工廠可以更有效進行。這些以熱電聯產的運作模式持續勝過堆填。轉廢為能工廠一般採用三種技術的其中之一種:直接燃燒、高溫分解或氣化。

直接燃燒是燃燒那些不能循環再用的廢物,所產生高壓蒸汽利用渦輪和發電機轉換成電力。高溫分解是在無空氣的情況底下,高溫分解廢物,產生合成氣,然後合成氣被用來產生電力。氣化牽涉到廢物的部份氧化,產生合成氣,然後合成氣被用來產生電力。

嚴格排放條例

雖然廢物焚化技術和排放控制已特別在過去多年來持續改善,廢物焚化產生有害氣體,需要被測量。廢物焚化所產生的氣體,例如:

  • 二氧化碳 CO2
  • 氮氧化物 NOx
  • 二氧化硫 SO2
  • 鹽酸 HCl

當廢物焚化時,除了以上提及的氣體外,重金屬 (例如汞 Hg) 及微粒可以釋放到大氣層。

廢物焚化工廠由嚴格排放條例所監管。所有廢物燃燒廠,包括細型廢物焚化工廠,至少在排放限、監測、廢物接收及處理,需要符合廢物焚化指引 (Waste Incineration Directive (2000/76/EC)) 所列的嚴格標準,已修入工業排放指引內 (2010/75/EU)。

我們的解決方案:連續排放監測系統 CEMS

Gasmet 能夠針對符合法規而設計、安裝整套集成連續排放監測系統,並投入使用, 確保合規並提供進程控制。我們的 CEMS 能夠讓操作人員同一時間監測多項氣體及其他進程參數,例如微粒和流量。

我們的兩套連續監測系統是:

為何選擇 Gasmet 作為你的 CEMS 伙伴?

Gasmet 是轉廢為能工廠的最佳伙伴。這裡有 5 個最重要的原因,解釋為何你應該選擇我們成為你的 CEMS 伙伴:

  • 減少風險,裝置能滿足所有法規要求
  • 省錢,最少的保養、操作成本及標定需要
  • 獲得長壽投資,預計生命週期長
  • 你的投資是面向未來。如有額外要求,Gasmet FTIR 可以加添新化合物到測量設定,而不需耗費更改硬件。
  • Gasmet 因提供分析專業知識、優質產品及服務,而享有好的名聲。

注意:

新的廢物焚化現有最佳技術參考文件 (Best Available Techniques (BAT) Reference Document for Waste Incinerators (WI BREF)) 正在進行審核。Gasmet 正跟進其進度,並其他即將到來的監測法規及排放限。

指引

有關排放監測你需要知道什麼

我們將會在這指引中介紹排放監測和FTIR (Fourier Transform Infrared) 給你。我們亦解釋如要有效安裝排放監測,有什麼需要考慮,並以 Gasmet CEMS II e 和CMM測出的數據,展示現實生活例子。免費下載指引,增長你對排放監測的知識!

個案:Thetford 發電廠

操作隊伍主管 Richard Bloomfield 說:『系統已有很好表現,只需很少的保養。每天只需數分鐘以氮氣作零點標定 (背景) ,而且是全自動。水份標定至少每年做一次,但在正常情況下無需其他標定。』

細閱整個個案研究 ❯

亦可細閱

廢物焚化
水泥產業
原料氣測量
合規測量
鋁業生產
肥料及硝酸生產

Waste-to-energy (WtE) or energy-from-waste (EfW) through incineration of waste is on the one hand an effective way of producing electricity and heat, while on the other hand it is disposing of possibly hazardous or unrecyclable waste. Its purpose is not to compete with waste recycling, reuse and prevention, but to complement them. After all, incineration not only reduces the amount of hazardous waste, but may also generate energy through the gases released in the process. Read about our solutions for waste-to-energy plants!

Typical Types of Waste Incinerated

Most industrial processes produce waste, some of which can be hazardous to public health and the environment if not managed properly. Despite the efforts to reduce and recycle hazardous waste from industrial processes, more than 400 million tons of hazardous waste is generated each year.

Hazardous waste is generated as a byproduct in the production processes of for example cosmetics, detergents, pharmaceuticals, household paints, phones, computers and gasoline. Discarded commercial products are also an example of potentially hazardous or unrecyclable waste.

The three most typical types of waste to which incineration is applied are municipal solid waste, hazardous waste and medical waste. These types of wastes are either liquids, solids or waste in containers.

Waste-to-Energy Plants

Waste-to-energy plants are waste management facilities that recover energy from waste, producing electricity and/or heat. These types of power plants are sometimes called trash-to-energy, energy-from-waste or resource recovery plants. Hazardous waste can be incinerated at specific WtE plants or at plants with permission for co-incineration of waste at biomass boilers or cement kilns.

Many kinds of hazardous waste are fed to incinerators, boilers, and industrial furnaces essentially as received. These wastes are often difficult to handle because of their consistency or hazardous nature, so minimal handling is preferred.

Where possible, however, pretreatment operations are desirable to facilitate homogenization of the waste and continuous feeding to the combustor. Common pretreatment operations by the type of waste are:

  • Liquid wastes – blending and solids filtration
  • Solid wastes – screening and size reduction (crushing or shredding)
  • Wastes in containers – liquid-phase decanting and shredding

Waste-to-Energy Through Direct Combustion, Pyrolysis or Gasification

The delivery of heat from WtE plants can be conducted at much higher efficiencies than electricity only plants. Those that operate in combined heat and power (CHP) mode will therefore continue to be superior to landfill. Waste-to-energy plants typically employ one of three technologies: direct combustion, pyrolysis or gasification.

Direct combustion burns waste that cannot be recycled, producing high-pressure steam that is converted to electricity using a turbine and a generator. Pyrolysis is the thermal degradation of waste in the absence of air to produce a syngas (synthesis gas) which is then used to generate power. Gasification involves the partial oxidation of the waste, producing a syngas which is then used to generate power.

Strict Emissions Regulations

Even though waste incineration technology and emission control, in particular, have improved substantially over the past years, waste incineration produces harmful gases that need to be measured. Examples of gases that waste incineration can produce are:

  • carbon dioxide CO2
  • nitrogen oxides NOx
  • sulphur dioxide SO2
  • hydrochloric acid HCI

In addition to the gases mentioned above, heavy metals (e.g. mercury Hg) and fine particles can be released into the atmosphere during waste incineration.

The waste incineration plants are governed by strict emissions regulations. All waste burning plants, including small waste incineration plants, have to meet at least the stringent emissions limit, monitoring, waste reception and treatment standards brought in under the Waste Incineration Directive (2000/76/EC) which has been recast into the Industrial Emissions Directive (2010/75/EU).

Our Solution: Continuous Emissions Monitoring System CEMS

Gasmet is able to specify, design, install and commission complete integrated continuous emissions monitoring systems to ensure regulatory compliance and to inform process control. Our CEMS enable operators to monitor multiple gases and other process parameters such as particulates and flow, simultaneously.

Our two different continuous monitoring systems are:

Why choose Gasmet as your CEMS partner?

Gasmet is an ideal partner for waste-to-energy plants. Here are the top 5 reasons why you should choose us as your CEMS partner:

  • Reduce risks with equipment that satisfy all regulatory requirements
  • Save money with minimal maintenance, operational costs and calibration
  • Gain longevity of investment with long lifetime expectancy
  • Future-proof your investment. With Gasmet FTIR, if there are additional requirements, new compounds can be added to the measurement setup without costly hardware changes.
  • Gasmet has a reputation for providing analytical expertise, supplying quality products and services

Note:

A new Best Available Techniques (BAT) Reference Document for Waste Incinerators (WI BREF) is currently under review. Gasmet is following the process as well as other upcoming monitoring requirements and emission limits.

GUIDE

What you need to know about emissions monitoring

In this guide we will introduce you to Emissions Monitoring and FTIR (Fourier Transform Infrared) in emissions monitoring. We will also explain what needs to be taken into consideration in an effective set-up for emissions monitoring and present real-life example data measured with Gasmet CEMS II e and CMM. Increase your Emissions Monitoring knowledge by downloading the guide free of charge!

DOWNLOAD EMISSIONS MONITORING GUIDE

Case: Thetford Power Station

“The system has performed very well, with very little maintenance required. Zero point calibration with nitrogen (background) just takes a few minutes each day and is fully automated. Water vapour calibration is conducted at least once per year, but under normal circumstances no other calibration is necessary.” says Operations Team Leader Richard Bloomfield

Read full case study ❯

See also

Power Plants
Cement Production
Raw Gas Measurements
Compliance Measurements
Aluminum Production
Fertilizer and Nitric Acid Production